2015 春季期刊

TenCate Grass:增长和新的发展

Grass 集团的营业额在 2014 年实现增长,延续了利润向好的趋势。 随着在全球范围内加大对销售和市场营销的投入,并在过去两年分别推出了两个用于曲棍球和足球的合成草皮系统,从而提升了 GreenFields 的品牌知名度以及在全球运动市场中的地位。 

公司始终持续开发新的合成草皮系统和基底结构。 目前的重点是为合成草皮系统制定新的质量标准。 同时,TenCate Grass 和 TenCate Geosynthetics 将通过进一步调整产品和系统以增强其价值主张。 

TenCate Grass 是用于簇生和 3D 纺织合成草皮系统的纺纱和背衬市场的全球领袖。 得益于两种系统最佳的性价比,TenCate Grass 获得了“同类最佳”的赞誉。

1 grass stadion het kasteel

为位于 Het Kasteel 的足球俱乐部 Sparta 提供合成草皮 (The Castle, Rotterdam)

合成草皮的使用在全世界非常普遍。 最近几年,尤其是在亚洲,供应商的数量持续增加。 几个主要竞争对手的产量已经翻番。生产纺纱的公司经常发生并购。 部分原因是由于政府削减费用所致,欧洲和美国的一些生产公司已决定停止化纤生产。 此外,在安装市场的一些公司已经暂停了相关的业务活动。 这让TenCate Grass 的市场份额逐渐上升。 

1 grass hockey wk

从 2014 年世界曲棍球冠军杯的后半程比赛开始,产品品牌 GreenFields® TX 已经吸引了国际关注。


随着在美国推出 GreenFields,合成草皮系统的营销再度取得重大成功,并由此实现了加速增长及提高了品牌的市场地位。 事实证明,美国的市场需求高于预期。 部分原因是由于经济回暖和对体育活动的支出增加。 在亚洲同样实现了市场份额的增长和发展,尤其是在东南亚,这是因为公司扩大了 GreenFields 和 TigerTurf 在新加坡、马来西亚、泰国、印度尼西亚和台湾的分销网络。

1 grass hong kong wah yan 2

在亚洲(照片:香港华仁书院内使用的合成草皮),这代表了目前各级别曲棍球的标准。 就足球而言,合成草皮主要用于学校和培训场地的多用途应用。  欧洲市场对于运动场地的需求保持稳定。 荷兰职业足球与 Corporatie Eerste Divisie (CED) 的合作大幅提升了足球场合成草皮的形象与知名度。 此外,GreenFields® MX 编织合成草皮系统极其重要。 该系统是 TenCate Grass 和 GreenFields 联合创新战略的支柱之一。 得益于编织和挤压技术的整合,公司开发出一款可完全循环利用的独特系统。 2014 年,公司开始扩大(编织)产能,并将在 2015 年继续扩大 - 在美国亦是如此。

1 grass ontario western

为位于安大略省的 Western Mustangs 提供合成草皮

TenCate 的重点是为合成草皮制定新的质量标准。 因此,有必要与市场中的合作伙伴及利益相关方(例如,国内和全球体育协会)进行密切合作。 截至 2015 年,三个新开发的组件产生了更多销售额:可循环利用的全新塑料基底,编织泡沫纤维减震基础,以及在易于安装的合成草皮系统中用作基底的特殊土工纺织品。 此类系统对基底工作的要求更低,降低了安装合成草皮场地的总成本和环境负荷。 在 TenCate 发展新产品-市场-技术组合的过程中,创新、易于安装的合成草皮系统独占鳌头。 这些系统即将进入商业推介阶段。 2014 年以来,随着在几个试点场地安装工作的完成,初期市场推介正在有序展开。 通过将 TenCate 开发和生产的不同组件进行组合,并结合生产合成草皮顶层的新方法,这将打造出新一代合成草皮运动场地。 

1 grass xtra grass

随着混合系统 XtraGrass™(照片)的推出,GreenFields 填补了全天然草地和全合成草皮之间的市场空白。 XtraGrass™ 是在坚韧的背衬材料中编织的合成草皮纤维网状产品,它可以直接铺在标准足球场基础之上。 在此网状产品中可以填充特殊的根系层混合物和草籽。 几天后,草籽在合成草皮纤维之间发芽、生长并穿过背衬。 这形成了一个强大的天然草毯,并且具有更出色的耐磨性能。 随着草的生长,背衬进行生物学分解。

1 grass groei ton raaphorst

Ton Raaphorst,TenCate Grass EMEA 集团董事

替换市场持续健康发展,尤其是在美国和欧洲。 这对 TenCate Grass 的销售发展亦有正面影响。 2014 年,市场小组通过替换合成草皮场地实现了 15% 至 20% 的营业额。 在本世纪初取得重大突破的第三代合成草皮场地目前有大量已经需要进行替换。 由于产品开发提高了质量并降低了系统成本,替换市场已经找到了一种现成的响应方式,并且该领域的业务活动将在未来数年持续发展。 

1 grass landscaping

景观美化市场在 2014 年取得良好发展。 预计该市场在未来数年将持续向好发展。 为了响应此趋势,合成草皮纺纱和背衬增加了特定功能,例如,在泳池和运动场实施抗菌和抑制苔藓生长的处理。

1 grass hong kong wah yan college

香港

大多数合成草皮毯与合成草皮组件的制造商位于中国。 通常,这些公司经过完全整合并在全球范围内经营。 此外,在日本和澳大利亚亦有合成草皮毯的制造商,他们主要服务当地市场。 TenCate 分别通过销售办事处和生产公司在澳大利亚和新西兰积极运营。 2013 年以来,新加坡办事处对下游活动(市场营销、销售、(外部)生产和安装)进行了集中管理,这对增长产生了正面影响。 此外,Grass 集团在北京也设立了销售办事处。 

1 grass vincent homrighausen

在亚太 (APAC) 地区,亚洲销售总监 Vincent Homrighausen(照片)表示,对合成草皮应用的接受程度和兴趣尽管存在地区差异,但却在逐步增加。 “由于有关各方的知识和经验不断增长,对高级合成草皮的接受程度在逐步增加。 这种平稳发展绝对是大势所趋。 因此,对质量的需求亦在不断上升 - 尽管您可能认为亚洲的知识水平尚未达到欧洲和美洲的高度。” 

1 grass singapore amara hotel

新加坡 Amara 酒店使用的合成草皮

在与廉价供应商(尤其是中国的供应商)的竞争中,簇生场地的销售亦呈现增长态势。 TenCate 正努力通过 GreenFields 编织产品形成自身的独特优势。随着知识水平的增加,对该产品的市场需求亦将增长。 日本是个不错的例子,当地知识水平与欧洲和北美相当,最终用户亦愿意为高质量产品买单。 因此,首批编织场地便是在日本安装。 环境问题在该地区亦越来越受重视。 这是因为中央和地方政府部门希望使用对生态环境无害的产品。 这是行业中一个非常重要的主题,在这方面,TenCate 和 GreenFields 已经通过采用 100% 可循环利用的产品与竞争对手拉开差距。  

亚洲的景观美化行业
在亚太地区,合成草皮市场仍处于初期阶段,并且有很大的发展潜力。 为了应对持续增长的市场所带来的挑战,TenCate 在此前就已经开始重视景观美化产品的发展和销售。 “TigerTurf 针对景观美化应用开发了极为出色的产品组合,因此,我们特别重视中端和高端市场,”Vincent Homrighausen 解释道。 “最终,我们希望占据领先地位。 无论在运动市场还是景观美化市场,我们预计均会取得良好的市场发展并扩大市场份额。” 市场推广工作将重点针对 TigerTurf 和 GreenFields,并尽量通过直接接触最终用户和利益相关者来进行。 

txtures 1 cover

Spring 2015

TenCate Grass: growth and new developments

Turnover of the Grass group increased during 2014, continuing the trend in profit recovery. There is more emphasis on sales and marketing worldwide, and the introduction of two synthetic turf systems for hockey and football respectively has strengthened brand recognition and positioning of GreenFields in the worldwide sports market over the past two years. 

The development of new synthetic turf systems and substrate structures has continued. The focus is on creating new quality standards for synthetic turf systems. In the meantime TenCate Grass and TenCate Geosynthetics are consolidating their value propositions by further alignment of products and systems. 

TenCate Grass is world market leader in both yarns and backing for tufted and 3D-woven synthetic turf systems. TenCate Grass is considered ‘best in class’ because it offers the best price/quality relationship for both systems.

1 grass stadion het kasteel

Synthetic turf for football club Sparta at Het Kasteel (The Castle, Rotterdam)

Synthetic turf is used worldwide. The number of suppliers has grown in recent years, particularly in Asia. Several major competitors have doubled their production volume, and here it’s often a case of integrated companies: those that have their own yarn production. Partly because of government cutbacks, some production companies in Europe and the United States have decided to discontinue their own fibre production. Furthermore a few companies in the installation market have suspended their activities. This has led to a growing market share for TenCate Grass. 

1 grass hockey wk

Since the World Hockey Championships halfway through 2014 the product brand GreenFields® TX has attracted international attention.

The marketing of synthetic turf systems received an additional boost with the launch of GreenFields in the United States, which has led to accelerated growth and a strengthening of market position. Demand in the United States turned out to be stronger than anticipated. This was partly the result of a growing economy and increased spend on sporting activities. Growth and development of market share were recorded in Asia too, especially in Southeast Asia, as a result of the expansion of the distribution network of GreenFields and TigerTurf in Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and Taiwan.

1 grass hong kong wah yan 2

In Asia (photo: synthetic turf at the Hong Kong Wah Yan College) is currently the standard for hockey at all levels. As far as football is concerned, synthetic turf is used mainly for multi-purpose applications at schools and for training fields.  In Europe market demand for sports fields remains stable. The cooperation in Dutch professional football with the Corporatie Eerste Divisie (CED) has significantly boosted the profile and recognition of synthetic football turf. In addition the woven GreenFields® MX synthetic turf system is of overriding importance. The system is one of the pillars of the joint innovation strategy of TenCate Grass and GreenFields. Thanks to the combination of weaving and extrusion technology, a distinctive system has been developed that is fully recyclable. In 2014 a start was made on expanding (weaving) production capacity, and this will continue in 2015 – in the United States too.

1 grass ontario western

Synthetic turf for the Western Mustangs in Ontario

TenCate is focused on creating new quality standards for synthetic turf. In this regard it is important to work closely together with partners in the market and interested parties such as national and international sports associations. As of 2015 three newly developed components can generate additional sales: a new foundation of recycled plastics, a shock-absorbent base of woven foam fibres, and a special geotextile that serves as substrate in an easy-to-install synthetic turf system. A system of this kind requires less foundation work, which reduces the total cost and the environmental load of installing a synthetic turf field. Innovative, easy-to-install synthetic turf systems form one of the spearheads in the development by TenCate of new product-market-technology combinations. These systems are nearing commercial introduction. Initial market introduction has been in progress since 2014, with the installation of several pilot fields. The combination of different components developed and produced by TenCate will – in conjunction with new production methods for the synthetic turf top layer – result in a new generation of synthetic turf sports fields. 

1 grass xtra grass

With the introduction of the hybrid system XtraGrass™ (photo) GreenFields fills the gap in the market between fully natural grass and fully synthetic turf. XtraGrass™ is a network of synthetic turf fibres woven into a strong backing material that can be directly laid on a standard football pitch base. It is infilled with a special rootzone mix sown with grass seed. Within a few days the grass seeds germinate and grow between the synthetic turf fibres and through the backing. This creates a strong natural grass carpet with greater resistance to wear and tear. As the grass grows, the backing decomposes biologically.

1 grass groei ton raaphorst

Ton Raaphorst, group director TenCate Grass EMEA

The replacement market continues to show healthy growth, especially in the United States and Europe. This has also had a positive effect on the sales development of TenCate Grass. In 2014 the market group secured 15 to 20% of its turnover from the replacement of synthetic turf fields. A substantial number of third-generation synthetic turf fields, which made their breakthrough at the beginning of this century, are now in need of replacement. Thanks to product developments that have raised the quality and reduced the costs of the system, the replacement market finds a ready response, and this area of activity will continue to grow in the years ahead. 

1 grass landscaping

The market for landscaping experienced sound growth in 2014. It is expected that this market will continue to develop positively over the coming years. To respond to this, synthetic grass yarns and backing are being given certain funtionalities, for example antibacterial and moss-growth-inhibiting finishes for application in swimming pools and playgrounds.

1 grass hong kong wah yan college

Hong Kong

The majority of the manufacturers of synthetic turf carpet and synthetic turf components are found in China. Often these concerns are fully integrated and operate worldwide. Furthermore manufacturers of synthetic turf carpet can be found especially in Japan and Australia, where they chiefly serve the local markets. TenCate is active in Australia and New Zealand via a sales office and a production company respectively. Since 2013 the downstream activities (marketing, sales, (external) production and installation) have been centrally managed by the office in Singapore, leading to a positive development in growth. Moreover the Grass group has a sales office in Beijing. 

1 grass vincent homrighausen

Acceptance of and interest in synthetic turf applications are also increasing in Asia-Pacific (APAC), ‘although there are regional differences,’ as Sales Director Asia Vincent Homrighausen (photo) explains. ‘The acceptance of high-grade synthetic turf is growing because of the increasing knowledge and experience of the interested parties. This steady development is absolutely a trend. As a result quality demands are also rising – although you could say Asia has not yet reached the level of knowledge found in Europe and North America.’ 

1 grass singapore amara hotel

Synthetic turf at the Amara Hotel in Singapore

The sale of tufted fields is up against competition from cheap − particularly Chinese − suppliers. TenCate is endeavouring to distinguish itself with the woven product of GreenFields, and as the knowledge level rises, so too will demand for this product. A good example is Japan, where the knowledge level is comparable to that of Europe and North America and end-users are also willing to pay for high-grade quality. That’s why the first woven fields have already been installed there. The environmental aspects are also becoming ever more important in the region. This is because central and local government agencies wish to use environmentally friendly products. This is a significant theme within the industry, and one in which TenCate and GreenFields have distinguished themselves from competitors through the introduction of 100% recyclable products.  

Landscaping in Asia
The market for synthetic turf in Asia-Pacific is still in its infancy and has great potential. To respond to the growing market, TenCate has for some time now devoted more attention to the development and sale of landscaping products. ‘TigerTurf has an exceptionally good product portfolio for landscape applications and so we are particularly targeting the middle and high segment,’ explains Vincent Homrighausen. ‘Ultimately we want to achieve a leading position. We foresee a positive market development and the expansion of our position in both sport and landscaping.’ Marketing efforts will be concentrated mainly on synthetic turf systems from TigerTurf and GreenFields through directly approaching end-users and stakeholders as far as possible. 

txtures 1 cover