2015 夏季期刊

复合材料 - 航空工业

TenCate 材料广泛应用于各种飞机结构构件,包括商用飞机、直升机和通用航空。  TenCate 提供两种截然不同的树脂类复合材料:热塑复合材料和热固复合材料。 目前市场普遍应用的是热固材料,最典型的是环氧树脂。 但是,由于热塑复合材料具有的各种优点,使得热塑材料如今成为最具增长潜力的领域。

通常,复合材料具有强度高和重量轻的特点。 使用复合材料可以减轻重量,从而减少燃油消耗,并且在结构上减轻重量有利于运载更多乘客或货物。 如今部分新型商用飞机(如 Boeing 787 和 Airbus A350)的机身采用了复合材料。  在此应用中使用复合材料可提高乘客的舒适度,因为机舱内部压力更高,因此乘坐环境更舒适。 与金属材料不同,复合材料不会腐蚀,因此这意味着能够减少航空公司的维护工作。 

composites boeing

Boeing 787(图片: Gail Hanusa)

TenCate 材料可用于不同的飞机结构(机翼、机身、飞行控制面),具体取决于飞机类型。 TenCate 提供的热固复合材料通常是采用玻璃纤维或碳纤维增强的环氧树脂,具体取决于应用。 玻璃纤维环氧树脂用于通用航空飞机或无人机的机身和飞行控制面,而碳纤维环氧树脂用于高承载结构零件,比如翼梁和机翼。 TenCate Cetex® 热塑材料通常适于飞机内部应用(座椅、厨房、地板、夹子)。 在 Airbus A380 等商用飞机中,机翼前缘和机身结构中的结构夹和支架均采用热塑复合材料。 


TenCate 复合材料的最新应用包括用于开发通信和导航天线的周边结构(雷达天线罩)。  由于乘客在飞行途中的通信选择增多,对机上联网的需求与日俱增。 这些可以利用热固树脂与玻璃基或石英基合成布料制造。 雷达天线罩通常是飞机结构的一部分;它们用于保护天线和其它无线电传输设备。 雷达天线罩用于保护天线和电子系统,同时允许信号通过。 Boeing 787 机头的雷达天线罩和卫星通信 (“satcom”) 雷达天线罩均采用了 TenCate 材料,前者用于遮护导航和天气雷达设备,后者用于为机上乘客提供互联网和 wifi 连接。  在北美,TenCate 为商用和支线喷气式飞机的雷达天线罩提供市场支持。 军用飞机和无人驾驶机的雷达天线罩也采用这种独特的无碳材料。 

对雷达天线罩的严格要求

用于制造雷达天线罩的材料必须符合严格要求;例如,它们在生产过程中不得受导电颗粒污染。 因为这可能会导致问题和通信故障。 碳纤维或金属颗粒造成的任何污染,即使是非常小的污染,都有可能产生热点并导致雷达天线罩损坏,并降低雷达效率。 因此,TenCate Advanced Composites 在位于摩根希尔(加州)工厂的绝对无尘室中制造这些材料。 TenCate 提供的材料不带电并且未受碳污染,因此非常适用。 高功率雷达信号能够完全不受干扰地通过雷达天线罩传输。 TenCate 为军用雷达天线罩提供的纤维织物主要由石英制成,为纯度达 99.9% 的玻璃材质。 雷达能够以电子方式穿透此材料进行探测,这非常像一个电子窗户。 基于相同的原因,TenCate 材料也用于船载雷达。

内部应用

TenCate 材料广泛用于制造各种飞机内部零件。 例如,在美国西南航空公司的 Boeing 737 飞机上,地板、管道、舱顶行李箱结构、推车、飞机座椅和厨房等均采用了这种材料。 这些应用于飞机内部的材料满足严格的消防要求。 位于美国和英国的 TenCate Advanced Composites 工厂向美国和欧洲的飞机座椅制造商供应复合材料。 

法国公司 Expliseat 利用钛金属和 TenCate 复合材料制造出钛质座椅:该飞机座椅仅重 4 公斤 - 是目前通过碰撞测试的重量最轻的座椅。 在法国巴黎举行的 JEC Composites 2014 展会上,该座椅制造商荣获 JEC 2014 飞机内饰创新大奖。

txtures 2 summer 2015 cover

Summer 2015

Composites - in aviation

TenCate materials are used in a variety of applications in aerostructures, ranging from commercial aircraft to helicopters to general aviation.  TenCate manufactures composites in two distinctly different resin forms, thermoplastic composites and thermoset composites. The current market is largely thermoset based with typical resins being epoxy. However, thermoplastics are now the area where the most growth is expected, primarily because of the benefits associated with thermoplastic composites.

In general, composites provide weight reduction and high strength. The use of composites provides weight reduction, which results in less fuel being consumed, and the weight reduction in structure allows more passengers or freight to be carried. Some of the newer commercial aircraft today such as the Boeing 787 and the Airbus A350 use composites for the fuselage.  The use of composites in this application allows for more passenger comfort since the interior can be pressurized higher resulting in a more comfortable environment. Also unlike metals, composites do not corrode so this means less maintenance for the airlines. 

composites boeing

Boeing 787 (picture: Gail Hanusa)

Depending upon the aircraft, TenCate materials are used for the flight structures (wings, fuselage, flight control surfaces). The thermoset composites from TenCate are typically epoxy with either fibreglass or carbon fibre reinforcement, depending on the application. Fibreglass epoxies are used for fuselages and flight control surfaces on general aviation aircraft or UAVs, while carbon fibre epoxy is used for highly loaded structural parts, like wing spars and wings. TenCate Cetex® thermoplastic materials are typically used in interior applications (seats, galleys, floors, clips). On commercial aircraft such as the Airbus A380 thermoplastic composites are used on leading edges and in the fuselage frame for structural clips and brackets. 

In a more recent application for TenCate composites, TenCate materials are used to develop the structure (radomes) around communication and navigation antennas.  As a result of increasing communication options during passenger flights, the demand for in-flight internet access is growing. These are made of thermoset resins with either a glass- or quartz-based composite fabric. Radomes are typically part of the aircraft structure; they are used to cover antenna and other radio transmission devices. The radome protects the antennas and electrical systems while still allowing signals to pass through. TenCate materials are used on the nose radome of the Boeing 787, which houses navigation and weather radar equipment, as well as on-satellite communication (“satcom”) radomes, which bring internet and wifi connectivity to the passengers on the flight.  In North America TenCate supports the market for commercial and regional jets with radome materials. These unique carbon-free materials are also used on the radomes of military aircraft and unmanned aerial vehicles. 

Strict requirements on radomes

Strict requirements are in force for these materials; they must for example not become contaminated with conductive particles during production. These can lead to problems and communication failure. Any contamination, no matter how small, from carbon fibres or metal particles would create hot spots and result in damage to the radome and reduced radar efficiency. For that reason TenCate Advanced Composites makes these materials in its clean rooms in Morgan Hill (California). Materials from TenCate are valued since they are electrically pure and contain no carbon contamination. This allows high-powered radar signals to be transmitted through the radome without interference. The fabrics that TenCate uses for military radomes are made primarily of quartz, which is 99.9% pure glass. This material allows the radar to electrically see through it, much like an electronic window. TenCate materials are also used on shipboard radar for the same reasons.

Interior applications

TenCate materials are used for diverse parts of the aircraft interior. Examples include flooring, ducting, overhead bin structures, trolleys, aircraft seats and galleys, such as those of the Boeing 737s of Southwest Airlines. The materials for interior applications meet strict fire-safety requirements. TenCate Advanced Composites USA and UK supply composite materials to US and European manufacturers of aircraft seats. 

Using a combination of titanium and TenCate composite, the French company Expliseat manufactured the Titanium Seat: an aircraft seat weighing a mere 4 kilos - the lightest ever to have withstood the crash test. At JEC Composites 2014 in Paris (France) the makers of the seat were presented with the JEC 2014 Aircraft Interiors Innovation Award.

txtures 2 summer 2015 cover