公司前景

TenCate 的发展方向

附加价值

全力支持 TenCate 技术小组的活动是当前的独特标准。 过去数年,专业化生产具有高级特点的功能性技术布料已经成为一种核心业务。 事实上,TenCate 已开始在更高层面专注于公司在过去几个世纪以来一直擅长的领域:开发、生产和精加工高级纺织品和挤压材料。 具有潜力的新应用和新市场已经逐渐取得不错的成绩。 专注、产品更新、技术创新和长期愿景构成了公司的发展框架。 因此,实现附加价值已经成为公司发展的指导原则。

独具特色

在 TenCate 内形成了各种独具特色的技术(部门),并且实现了对原材料的集中化采购(购买力)。 同时,根据相关产品、市场和技术 (PMT) 组合创建了多个市场窗口(市场部门),而技术在其中起到了关键作用。 这些基本技术互为补充。

标准

选择的市场窗口必须符合下列标准:

  • 市场增幅不得低于 10%
  • 市场要求基于重要的功能性特点
  • 材料的规格必须符合国家和全球标准、法律和条例的要求
  • 相关市场必须具有相对较高的准入门槛

通过现有和全新的 PMT 组合,TenCate 紧随全球趋势和发展方向。 公司的解决方案和系统方法 – 称作 TenCate 解决方案 – 占主导地位。

系统方法

通过寻找解决方案和采用其系统方法(单个产品系统、多个产品系统和集成系统),TenCate 与其他技术和参与者的接触更加频繁。 TenCate 将更多地在开放的创新网络中运营,在此类网络中,公司的专业知识和经验将成为解决方案的一部分。 这样便可创建出色的新 PMT 组合和相关市场窗口。

技术

TenCate 具有两项基本技术:第一项是除化纤和织造技术外的精加工技术。 相关市场窗口为:防护性布料、用于航空航天、汽车产品和装甲的外层布料与复合材料。 第二项技术是除无纺和网格技术外的挤压技术。 相关市场窗口为:土工纺织品、工业用织物和合成草皮。

附加价值

通过价值链管理创造最大的附加价值形成了 TenCate 战略的框架。 通过采用 TenCate 业务模式,公司能够利用其自身优势运营。 自外而内的思考已经成为公司经营的指导原则。 以系统为导向的解决方案满足了市场上不断变化的需求和期望。

最终用户的市场营销

受益于公司掌握的专业知识,公司能够认真考虑客户的需求。 TenCate 计划开发的每一个新产品必须结合客户的当前需求或新的国家和全球标准、法律或条例要求。 拉式营销是一种销售工具,它用于在早期阶段与客户一起制定或确定具体要求。 能够响应新的或现有的具体要求能够有效提升竞争力。 相关要点包括:品牌战略、上市时间(包括研发流程)和制定与市场适用规格相关的标准。

市场潜力

通过各种方式影响最终市场(决策单位)的标准或通过创新制定或实施新标准,从而不断提高水准。 这将有效促使有创新需求和要求的现有和潜在客户寻求与 TenCate 合作。 市场潜力对 TenCate 的解决方案起到关键作用。

风险社会

TenCate 的运营环境可以描述为“风险社会”。 通过密切关注全球的社会趋势和产生的市场主题,公司始终保持对市场需求的深入了解。 同时,社会趋势及其潜在主题亦推动了对特定材料的需求。 TenCate 关注的全球趋势是:安全保护、可持续发展与环保。 对 TenCate 非常重要的市场主题包括:增加的威胁、人身安全、节省燃料、环保和用水管理。

战略

TenCate 做的每一件事必须自外而内并且持之以恒,与愿景保持一致。 TenCate 战略的核心一方面基于其 Buy & Build(购买和创建)部分,另一方面基于其 Fix it – Exit(修复 – 退出)部分。 高级材料成为公司重点关注的市场。 TenCate 战略的前提条件是:

  1. 市场领导地位(重要客户群)
  2. 增长 
  3. 平衡的产品组合(例如,BCG 矩阵,具有两个维度:市场份额和市场增幅)

Fix it – Exit(修复 – 退出)

与高科技材料无关的任何材料(例如,技术纺织品) – 换句话说,不属于 TenCate 核心业务的任何产品 – 即属于公司战略的 Fix it – Exit(修复 – 退出)部分。 公司将首先确保这些业务单位稳健运营,然后将其出售。 释放的资金将用于进行新的收购。

Buy & Build(购买和创建)

该战略部分的“购买”要素由以下使命推动:成为市场领导者,以及利用 TenCate 技术实现增长。 这包括互为补充的产品、市场和技术。 这意味着收购或利益不一定兼而有之,但必须始终着眼于增强价值链并且明显有助于巩固自身优势。 

价值链

价值链管理对于这一战略必不可少,确保更加牢牢地控制 TenCate 运营的价值链。 这将通过增加重要客户群在价值链的末端产生强大的购买力。 在价值链的前端 – 面向 TenCate 客户的客户 – 更好的品牌定位以及通过商业联盟、合资和收购提高附加价值的可见度。 “创建”是战略的最后一部分,它关注的是对高级材料的投资。 通过此方式,逐渐赋予技术纺织品新的生命。

收购

作为“购买和创建”战略的一部分,TenCate 的目标是在其运营的价值链管理业务模式中进行横向收购。 公司将在价值链中横向发展;不会向前或向后整合。 完全收购具有相同、相关或互补技术的公司或与其合资经营,这将有助于公司发展。 选择目标公司的决定因素是其价值链定位。 如果目标公司在价值链中的定位与 TenCate 大致相同,那么 TenCate 可能有兴趣收购或与该公司合资经营。 

隐藏的价值

TenCate 进行了大量收购,这也在四大基石层面巩固了公司的地位。 TenCate 希望收购具有隐藏价值的公司 - 特别是当该公司掌握了 TenCate 认为对实施公司战略非常重要的特定技术并且 TenCate 内部尚未掌握该技术时。 通过以非常专业的方式合理化多余的成本并将隐藏的质量(专利、品牌、人员、机器和制造潜力)关联至现有业务单位,可以相对较快地产生新的盈利销售。 

领先地位

管理某公司在价值链中的定位时,可以根据它的产品流及其产生的附加价值对其进行评估。 这开始于原材料的输入。 公司以领先地位在全球开展运营,便可以从区域价格差异和经济规模中获得益处,从而创造购买力。

业务模式

在业务模式中,产品差异化和成本优势彼此自然延续,如同最终用户营销和技术创新。 附加价值越高,客户就能更快地发现 TenCate 提供的产品和解决方案的独特之处。 尤其是在成本控制和产品差异化可以互为补充的领域:仅仅关注成本会导致产品缺少差异化,而完全将重点放在差异化的产品系列上则会降低生效效率(产量小,增加转变成本和其它运营资本等)。 

防守

成本优势被视为最后一道防线,而产品差异化被认为是非常积极的市场方法。 业务单位必须不断地评估这两种极端方法的相对益处。

基石

TenCate 业务模式的四大基石是(顺时针,从右下角开始):

  1. 成本优势(内部重点,与灵活性有关)。 第一大基石与成本优势有关。 这涉及量产产品和特色产品。 它迫使公司不仅要非常关注成本,还要非常关注生产方法(及与成本有关的方面)、定价政策、更加智能的工艺应用、有序的物流管理、降低环境成本等。同时,它确保对扩展产品、开发产品和淘汰产品保持平衡的产品组合。
  2. 产品差异化(外部重点,与价值主张有关)。 这是 TenCate 战略中非常积极的要素,并且与产品生命周期息息相关。 它迫使公司不断地向市场投入新产品,因为在实际情况中,随着扩展产品的高质量、独特特性、出色功能、较低的价格及较大的市场份额等优势快速或逐渐消失,扩展产品亦将最终成为商品。 在产品差异化和成本优势之间保持良好平衡的先决条件是灵活的组织(通过社会创新)。 在日常实践中,有必要将“效果”(做正确的事情)与“效率”(正确做事)结合起来。 最后一点是关于人员的积极性。
  3. 最终用户营销(外部重点,与市场拉力有关)。 相关的主要原则不是将产品“推向”市场,而是允许最终用户创造需求。 这是“精确”销售:向正确的人或机构提供精确的产品。 这必须结合营销战略,且该营销战略要能够提高产品在市场中的可见度。 与此有关的其中一项活动是根据 TenCate 品牌结构打造行业品牌,从而在路线图上准确定位企业品牌和调整的产品品牌。
  4. 技术创新(内部重点,与创新有关)。 技术创新和产品创新并不相同。 革命性的技术创新对于未来发展至关重要。 有必要通过技术创新进一步开发现有产品,同时必须认识到积极的知识产权政策(专利、配方)的重要性。 收购将使 TenCate 获得新技术,从而巩固公司的市场地位或生产相关的 PMT 组合。
Blue fabric (Tecawork Blue 65287)

Company perspective

Where TenCate is purposefully heading

Added value

The foundation underpinning the TenCate technology group’s activities is currently of a distinctive calibre. Over the past years specialization in the production of functional, technical fabrics with high-grade characteristics has come to occupy a central role. In fact, TenCate started to specialize, at a higher level, in what it had already been good at for centuries: the development, production and finishing of high-grade textiles and extruded materials. New potential applications and new markets have come to take pride of place. Focus, product renewal, technological innovation and a long-term vision provided the framework. As a result, achieving added value has become the company’s guiding principle.


Technology clusters (sectors) have been formed within TenCate, in which – based on distinctive technologies – the purchasing of raw materials has been concentrated (buying power). At the same time, market windows (market divisions) have been created with clusters of related product-market-technology (PMT) combinations, in which the technologies involved play a pivotal role. These basic technologies are complementary.


The market windows were selected so as to meet the following criteria:

  • Market growth is required to be at least 10%
  • Market requirements are based on critical, functional characteristics
  • Specifications of materials are subject to national and international standards, legislation and regulations
  • The market or markets concerned have relatively high access thresholds

Through its existing and new clusters of PMT combinations TenCate follows global trends and developments. Its solutions and system approach – known as the TenCate Solutions – predominates.

System approach

By seeking solutions and operating its system approach (single product systems, multi-product systems and integrated systems), TenCate is coming ever more frequently into contact with other technologies and players. TenCate will to an increasing extent operate in open innovation networks in which its own specific knowledge and experience will form part of the solution. This will result in the creation of exciting new PMT combinations and relevant market windows.


TenCate has two basic technologies: the first of these, in addition to fibre and fabric technology, is finishing technology. The related market windows are: protective fabrics, outdoor fabrics and composites for space and aerospace, automotive products and armour. The second, in addition to non-woven and grid technology, is extrusion technology. The related market windows are: geotextiles, industrial fabrics and synthetic turf.

Added value

The creation of maximum added value through value chain management forms the framework for the TenCate strategy. Applying the TenCate business model the company operates from its own strength. Outside-in thinking has become its guiding principle. System-oriented solutions provide the answer to the ever-changing needs and expectations of the outside world.

End user marketing

Thanks to the expertise the company has acquired, in-depth consideration can be given to customer requirements. Each new product that TenCate intends to develop must be grafted onto prevailing customer demand or new national and international standards, legislation or regulations. Pull marketing is the sales tool that is used to draw up or develop specifications together with the customer (the end-user) at an early stage. Being able to respond to new or existing specifications is an important competitive tool. The key points here are: brand strategy, time to market (including the R&D process) and the creation of standards relating to specifications that apply in the market.

Market potential

The standard can constantly be raised by influencing end markets (decision-making units) on standards in a variety of ways or by creating or enforcing new standards with the aid of innovation. This will have the positive effect of encouraging both existing and potential customers to approach TenCate with innovative questions and requirements. Market potential plays a key role in solutions of TenCate.

Risk society

The context within which TenCate operates may be described as ‘the risk society’. By specifically monitoring global social trends and derived market themes, the company remains connected to the world around it. At the same time social trends and their underlying themes also drive up the demand for certain materials. The global trends on which TenCate focuses are: safety and protection and sustainability and the environment. The market themes that are important to TenCate include: increased threats, personal safety, fuel savings, environmental protection and water management.


Everything that TenCate does must be embedded and have a certain consistency, underpinned by its vision. The core of the TenCate strategy is based on the one hand on its Buy & Build component and on the other hand on its Fix it – Exit component. This creates a focus on markets for advanced materials. The preconditions for the TenCate strategy are:

  1. Market leadership (critical mass)
  2. Growth 
  3. Balanced product portfolio (for example the BCG matrix, with two dimensions: market share and market growth)

Fix it – Exit

Anything that is not related to high-tech materials (such as technical textiles) – in other words, anything that is not part of the TenCate core business – comes under the Fix it – Exit component of the company strategy. These business units will first be made healthy and then sold. The funds released will be used for new acquisitions.

Buy & Build

The Buy element of this strategy component is driven by the mission to establish market leadership and to achieve growth based on TenCate technologies. This involves complementary products, complementary markets and complementary technologies. This means that an acquisition or interest may no longer be of the same kind, but must always expressly add something, with a view to securing a stronger position in the value chain. 

Value chain

This strategy requires value chain management, a firmer grip on the chains in which TenCate operates. This will entail strengthening purchasing power at the back-end of the value chain by increasing critical mass. And at the front-end of the value chain – towards the customers of TenCate’s customers – better positioning of the brands and making the added value visible through commercial alliances, joint ventures and acquisitions. This last constituent is the Build element within this strategy component, which focuses on investments in advanced materials. In this way step by step new life is being blown into technical textiles.


As part of its Buy & Build strategy, TenCate aims to make horizontal acquisitions within the value chain management business model that it operates. The company will grow horizontally within the value chain; there is no forward or backward integration. Joint ventures with – or full acquisition of – companies that have the same, related or complementary technologies will help the company to grow. Its position in the value chain is the decisive factor for such a candidate. If this candidate is in approximately the same link in the value chain, then TenCate may well be interested. 

Hidden value

TenCate has made a large number of acquisitions, which strengthen the positions of the company on all four cornerstones. TenCate prefers to buy companies with a hidden value - certainly if the company involved has a particular technology which TenCate considers to be of crucial importance for implementing its strategy, and which it does not yet itself have in house. By very specifically rationalizing superfluous costs and linking hidden qualities (patents, brands, people, machines and manufacturing potential) to existing business units, new profitable sales can be generated relatively quickly. 

Leadership position

While managing its position in the value chain a company can be assessed on its flow of goods and the added value that this generates. This begins on the input side with the raw materials. By operating worldwide from a position of leadership benefits can be gained from regional price differences and economies of scale, thus creating buying power.

Business model

In the business model, product differentiation and cost leadership follow on naturally from each other, just like end-user marketing and technological innovation. The higher the added value, the sooner customers discover how unique the products and solutions are that TenCate offers. In the field of cost control and product differentiation in particular there is complementarity: purely and simply focusing on costs leads to little product differentiation, while focusing entirely on a differentiated product range results in less efficient production (small production runs, changeover costs, additional working capital, etc.). 


Cost leadership is seen as the last line of defense, whereas product differentiation is considered to be an aggressive market approach. Business units will constantly have to assess the comparative benefits of these two extremes.


The four cornerstones of the TenCate business model are (clockwise, from bottom right):

  1. Cost leadership (internal focus, relates to flexibility). The first cornerstone relates to cost leadership. This involves both volume products and specialties. It forces the company to become extremely conscious not only of costs, but also of its production methods (and the related cost aspects), pricing policy, the smarter use of processes, organizing logistical streams, reducing environmental costs, etc. At the same time it ensures that a balanced product portfolio is maintained with expansion products, exploitation products and elimination products.
  2. Product differentiation (external focus, relates to the value propositions). This is an aggressive element in the TenCate strategy and is closely associated with the product lifecycle. It forces the company over and again to bring new products to market, because in practice an expansion product will eventually also become a commodity, with its high quality, unique characteristics, distinctive capacity, low price and large market share slowly or quickly petering out. The precondition for a good balance between product differentiation and cost leadership is a flexible organization (through social innovation). It is important in daily practice to continue to link ‘effectiveness’ (doing the right things) with ‘efficiency’ (doing things right). Ultimately, this is all about people’s motivation.
  3. End-user marketing (external focus, relates to market pull). The key principle here is not to ‘push’ products onto the market, but to allow demand to be created by the end-user. This is spec selling: specifying the product to the right people or authorities. This must be combined with a marketing strategy that increases the visibility of the products in the market. One of the activities involved in this is well considered industrial branding in accordance with TenCate brand architecture, thus putting both the corporate brand and the aligned product brand clearly on the map.
  4. Technological innovation (internal focus, relates to creativity). Technological innovation and product innovation are not identical. Groundbreaking, technological innovations are necessary to safeguard the future. It is essential to develop existing products further by means of technological innovations and here the importance of an active intellectual property policy (patents, formulae) must be recognized. Acquisitions will enable TenCate to acquire technology that will strengthen its position in the market or will produce related PMT combinations.
Blue fabric (Tecawork Blue 65287)